‘Amede’ aka Adire is beautiful

As I stood on the rack for the private models sorting out our pieces,I multitasked with watching as the models came out after showcasing(talk about positioning rightly).
Then I noticed one model then another,then another clad in long flowy dresses that were adorned intricately and beautifully with adire print.This caught my eyes and had me shouting ‘wow’ in as many languages as I could.
My next question was ‘who is the designer?’.
Later got to find out that the designer’s name is AMEDE.
.
Amede’s collection consists of a lot of long flowy dresses,with flared sleeves,wrap tops,long wrap dresses, pants,and midi dresses with the now super fashionable off shoulder dresses and cold shoulder sleeves.
In the collection, form and structure is sacrificed on the alter of fluidity and looseness.This will fit right into the closet of majority of women who want to look distinct,free and fashionable at the same time.
.
The Adire prints are an absolute winner for me firstly because they look absolutely beautiful on the runway and even more stunning when seen physically. Chiffon is not the easiest of fabrics to do batik on (i can say that first hand from experience.Dewaxing it is another kettle of fish!)but ‘Amede’ pulled it off with aplomb.Most looks were done with batik while few  were done with ‘marbling’ method of tie dye.
The motifs also were properly  and neatly done and the colors are a winner for me.
Amede played a lot with black(my fav color) and it still came out really nice.
.
The fabrics were the star of this collection and It worked the treat.
.
Way to go AMEDE!!!
.
Vocabulary Development
For those that are just hearing ADIRE  for the first time,allow me learn you a bit.
Adire is a resist-dyed cloth produced and
worn by the Yoruba people of southwestern
Nigeria in West Africa. The Yoruba label
adire , which means “tied and dyed,” was
first applied to indigo-dyed cloth decorated with
resist patterns around the turn of the
twentieth century.
Most of the time,the resist is done using wax or ‘lafun’ (traditional food made from grounded cassava) and the motifs as desired are drawn on the fabrics and traced using a tjanting tool(in all my years of doing batik,I have never used or seen this too oo*lols*) or locally with foam(this I know and use).
.
See photos of my fave looks after the cut.

image

image
The orange on this ticks all the right boxes for me
image
A play on black and white that came through!!
image
Cold shoulder meets adire

image

image

Leave a Reply

